Came to Find – Vim Encontrar

ENGLISH: So tell me, what did you come to find here? Read more and see what my opinions & thoughts on everything are all about. Followed my blog? I'll follow yours. PORTUGUÊS: Então me diga, o que você veio encontrar aqui? Leia mais e veja quais são as minhas opiniões & pensamentos sobre todas as coisas. Seguiu o meu blog? Vou seguir o seu.

ENG.: Social Interaction – Why so Hard?

Wherever you go, either alone or with someone, the chance of meeting somebody exists and it is unquestionable. The pharmacy, grocery store, classroom, bank line, bar, traffic jam and public restroom are only a few places where the possibility presents itself, and from that moment on all bets are off. But why is it so complicated for some people to interact?

Talking about me and my experiences, sometimes I think I should stop interacting so much… But that is a natural thing that comes out of me and goes on, since that purple dinosaur’s phrase, to me, is very true: “a stranger is a friend you haven’t met yet.” And I think: why not talk?

* Google Images

Different cultures mean different habits, ways of seeing certain situations by a determined group of people in a way that can not be yours, and one of the main reasons for some people not to interact as much  as others is where they are. Inside Brazil there are visible differences from one region to another, I’ve been to all of them and I can assure you: northern, northeastern and part of the people in the southeast are more receptive than southern and middle-western people. There are differences outside Brazil: Argentineans, Venezuelans and Brazilians are more receptive than Americans.

* Google Images

Wary, shy or just usually quiet are personality traits that will also affect how much these people interact. Knowing how to break the ice in these situations is not easy, having patience and knowing what to speak in that moment is even worse, making this the cause for that perfectly programmed conversation you had in your head with someone not to happen.

Regardless of what was mentioned previously, if in that moment you feel like you should go ahead and follow your instinct, do it. We tend to regret the things we did not do, and we all know that good friends, in our days, are hard to find… So why waste a chance? A possibility?

* Google Images

Quoting the American tv show One Tree Hill, I leave this message: “you never know where the next miracle is going to come from. The next smile, the next wish come true. But if you believe that it’s right around the corner, and you open your heart and mind to the possibility of it, to the certainty of it – you just might get the thing you’re wishing for.”

27 comments on “ENG.: Social Interaction – Why so Hard?

  1. jingsandthings
    June 25, 2013

    It’s interesting that there are differences between cities. In Scotland, people in Glasgow tend to be chatty, while in Edinburgh people are more reserved. In rural areas people chat to everyone.

    • thaygoulart
      June 25, 2013

      I couldn’t agree more. There is a big difference between Rio de Janeiro and Campo Grande – MS. Still, I try to start a conversation whenever I can. Never been to Europe, maybe one day I’ll notice it by myself🙂

  2. fgassette
    June 25, 2013

    Your article is very well written and informative. I am somewhat like you, I love meeting new people in all walks of life. My only daughter tells me I am too friendly. I have never had any regrets. I believe people come into your life for a reason, a season and sometimes for life.

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • thaygoulart
      June 26, 2013

      Thank you! My dad and I had an argument once, I started talking to this person in front of me in the supermarket, and he was like: “You’re not supposed to talk to strangers! Haven’t you learned it yet?” but he is just like me😀 he’d be a great politician. I’ll be following your blog so I can keep in touch somehow🙂

  3. Jody
    June 25, 2013

    I’m like you! I’ll start up a conversation with just about anyone, anywhere, anytime ~ about anything!! After all, what are you risking? It’s always fun to start it off with a compliment: “I just love those snappy red shoes!” or “What a fun, colorful purse!” That usually gets the ball rolling! I have found that people just love to give recommendations or directions. If I’m on vacation, I’ll ask for a good restaurant or where someone’s favorite beach is. Hometown folks can hardly resist an out-of-towner!

    • thaygoulart
      June 26, 2013

      Really? Exactly! I’ve got nothing to lose so why not start a random conversation? Nice topics, I’ll make sure to use them in my next attempt of talking to a stranger😀 and you’re right, hometown folks can hardly resist an out-of-towner!

  4. weliveinaflat
    June 26, 2013

    I write more than I talk. I listen more than I talk. I am comfortable that way🙂 Good job reaching out to people though😉

    • thaygoulart
      June 26, 2013

      Thanks! I’m sure you felt like going with your instincts at least once in your life😉

  5. Angeline M
    June 26, 2013

    Well written piece in English. You’ve found a good way to make friends on WordPress🙂
    Every corner of the world varies in the friendly department, I think, but it’s up to each individual to reach out.

    • Sonel
      June 26, 2013

      Well written indeed and I agree with Angeline. You certainly found a good way to make friends on WP and I am the last one you should ask for an opinion on English as it’s my second language too and sometimes even I find it difficult to say the right things.🙂

      I’m not a people person at all as most people are dishonest in the sense of pretending they like you and then talk behind your back or saying nice things but not meaning it. That is why I prefer animals. They’re not mean or dishonest.🙂

      Thanks for the visit to my blog and for your lovely comment. Appreciated.😀

      • thaygoulart
        June 26, 2013

        Really? Just know that not everyone will talk behind your back, but I’ve had some bad experiences when it comes to humans too, so I understand. I think I am willing to give people a chance. I am a vegetarian so I guess I can say I love animals as much as you do😀
        You’re welcome! I’ll try to keep up with you from now on Sonel.

        • Sonel
          June 27, 2013

          Oh, I don’t care much what people say and I always say if they do talk behind your back and others want to believe what they say even without knowing you, then I am also better off for not knowing them either.😀 When I was younger I tend to have more patience with people. Being half a decade old changes you somehow and I don’t have much patience at all with people like that and that is why I prefer my computer, the internet and the blogs. If you don’t want to say anything, you just keep quiet and it’s nice to know there are people out there that do feel the same as you. I am not a vegetarian but I do not eat meat from wildlife. I prefer chicken and fish. My pleasure and great knowing you.😀 *hugs*

    • thaygoulart
      June 26, 2013

      Thank you! I’m still looking for friends, anywhere I can find them🙂 exactly, it’s up to you to be friendly or not, or at least polite.

  6. dinkerson
    June 26, 2013

    Great article. Perfectly readable, and the content flowed quite nicely! 🙂

    I love to talk to people, but I can get a little annoyed by people who barge into a conversation with you or with another group of people, simply because they feel like they’re more charming than they really are.
    I witnessed a perfect example of this recently… and it was fun to watch. 🙂

    So, even though I’m not shy, I tend to come on a bit softly to not be off-putting. 🙂

    When I drop in to chat with my clients, most of them tend to be a little shy. I can play off of that though, then I find a subtle connection and stay on it until they are more comfortable.
    I say “subtle” connection because I don’t want to be too obvious. Like, “Oh! You’re wearing Nikes!!! I friggin love Nikes! All of my other shoes are Nikes… I swear.”
    Then it’s obvious that I’m trying too hard.
    So, my point is that a lot of folks will come out of their shell once you do something that makes them like you.
    And I always go off the cuff. No preplanned conversations. I tend to believe that girls may preplan their talks more than guys.
    Anyway, good talking.😉

    • thaygoulart
      July 18, 2013

      Thank you so much! And thanks for stopping by as well. Haha you’re right, you have to know when to make an attempt to mix with others. Great way to approach your clients, dinkerson! I think I might do the same thing occasionally😀

  7. ladyfi
    June 26, 2013

    Interesting piece! There are, of course, differences in cultures, with some nations being more social than others. But that is, perhaps, too much of a generalization as within those cultures there individuals – and we are all pretty different…

    • thaygoulart
      July 18, 2013

      Thank you! I know, you’re right. It the end of the day it is really up to you, isn’t it?

  8. EllaDee
    June 26, 2013

    I like “So why waste a chance? A possibility?”, and also your final quote from One Tree Hill. I particularly like the way you have approached making contact on WordPress. You’ve followed through your premise of real world interaction into the blogging world. You write well, and I enjoyed this topic Your other posts look interesting as well. I like the style of your blog and the images, I suggest editing to add spaces in between the words and the and symbol “opinions&thoughts” in your header. Also be careful about using images, ensuring you have copyright, permission and/or credit the source.

    • thaygoulart
      July 18, 2013

      Thank you so much EllaDee, I already made the changes you proposed above.

  9. adinparadise
    June 26, 2013

    A great post. I love chatting to strangers, and find that we always end up smiling. It’s a good feeling.

    • thaygoulart
      July 18, 2013

      Thank you! I feel the exact same way. Thanks for stopping by too.

  10. Clicking Here
    July 18, 2013

    The material is incredibly appealing.

  11. blogginghands
    July 19, 2013

    Living life in dialogue is one way to cultivate one’s openness in the midst of divisions and conflicts.

  12. frizztext
    July 24, 2013

    Francine (above) commented: “My only daughter tells me I am too friendly…” – yes one of my daughters, an architect, has the same opinion, but the other daughter, a banker, supports me being friendly …

    • thaygoulart
      September 17, 2013

      I think as long as you’re comfortable with it, there’s no harm in being friendly. Right?😉

Leave a Comment - Comente Aqui Sobre o Post

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2013 by in Thoughts - Pensamentos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Visitors – Visitantes

Flag Counter

Enter your email to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email - Coloque seu e-mail para seguir este blog e receber notificações de novos posts por e-mail

Join 770 other followers

Calendar – Calendário

June 2013
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
