Came to Find – Vim Encontrar

ENGLISH: So tell me, what did you come to find here? Read more and see what my opinions & thoughts on everything are all about. Followed my blog? I'll follow yours. PORTUGUÊS: Então me diga, o que você veio encontrar aqui? Leia mais e veja quais são as minhas opiniões & pensamentos sobre todas as coisas. Seguiu o meu blog? Vou seguir o seu.

ENG.: Thinking about Birthdays

According to Wikipedia, “birthday” means: the day of someone’s birth; day when a person celebrates the date of his/her birth. One of the reasons why I will talk about this is because I am feeling festive, the other one is in the end of the post. My mom turned 41 years old last week, and talking to her about ages and life experiences you gain with time, she said turning 30 was better to her than 20. I still wonder why she said that, but I think I found an answer.

* BHMpics

I look at this second decade of life as fun and surprising, a different “surprise” when compared to adolescence. To some people those were the best times of their lives and to others, seemed to be one of the most perplexed times too. So many uncertainties, aspirations and desires. What happens after college? In which places the opportunities will appear? What if they don’t… What happens? Who stays? Who goes? Who comes?

My 20th birthday is close and as unpredictable as life is, I cannot not think of what comes next. I don’t know what to think, new – and surprising – things happened and only made my curiosity and desires bigger. Like Katherine Paterson said, “to fear is one thing. To let fear grab you by the tail and swing you around is another” and that’s what I am fighting against, the fear of the unknown, just like many others.

Haha made me laugh!

The other reason why I’m posting this, is because I would like to know something about you. A memory of a birthday party, a story, anything. I’ll leave here my story:

In Brazil the legal age is 18 years old, and I really wanted to celebrate it in a nightclub with a few friends. But my mom didn’t let me… (mom, if you’re reading this, don’t argue with me again! Once was enough!). So I arranged with a friend to sneak out of the house to go to this nightclub, and I ended up sleeping at two other friend’s house. There I was, doing something legal in Brazil and totally illegal for my mom. I had a lot of fun, celebrated a lot and 90% of the people with me (mostly 17/18 year olds) were also sneaking out of their houses! The whole concept of the birthday party, to me, was really nice. It wasn’t nice  when my mom found out later, and another million things that happened at Vegas nightclub.

Image

Image

Since the post is over, I just wanted to tell my friends Ellen Pires, Tárcyla Aguiar, Marcela Barros, Fabiana Braga, Jéssica Andrade, Beatriz Ohtta, Felipe Dantas, Fernando Rodrigues and Juan Ben-Hur how much I miss our group at Nerd’s. Thank you for everything you’ve done for me and I will always be here, for each and everyone of you.

5 comments on “ENG.: Thinking about Birthdays

  1. TBM
    July 29, 2013

    I hope your mom didn’t yell at you again. We had to wait until we were 21 in the States, but I wasn’t a drinker then and I’m not a party animal either. Had a quiet night with friends. That’s all that matters–being with people you love–even if you are breaking curfew. Always be safe though

    • thaygoulart
      July 29, 2013

      I don’t think she’s seen this (yet!)
      I love to party, not going to lie. That is why I wanted a memorable birthday party. I was happy to be with my friends and now, almost 2 years later, I am glad they’re still with me – and I don’t even live in Amazon anymore!
      I found good ones, I’m sure you did too.
      I will, thank you!

  2. lifethroughmyeyes
    September 6, 2013

    I simply LOVE birthdays..if its someone close to me..i get very very excited..n start making handmade greetings..! At times I feel i get more excited that I am supposed to be..but that’s me!😛

    • thaygoulart
      September 16, 2013

      I love it too! I’m always very excited about it, just like you. It’s a special date, isn’t it? Day you came to this world! Should always be memorable.

Leave a Comment - Comente Aqui Sobre o Post

Visitors – Visitantes

Flag Counter

Enter your email to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email - Coloque seu e-mail para seguir este blog e receber notificações de novos posts por e-mail

Join 770 other followers

Calendar – Calendário

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
