Came to Find – Vim Encontrar

ENGLISH: So tell me, what did you come to find here? Read more and see what my opinions & thoughts on everything are all about. Followed my blog? I'll follow yours. PORTUGUÊS: Então me diga, o que você veio encontrar aqui? Leia mais e veja quais são as minhas opiniões & pensamentos sobre todas as coisas. Seguiu o meu blog? Vou seguir o seu.

ENG.: Maragogi – Piece of Heaven

Like I mentioned previously here, I was traveling with my family and we spent 10 days in the Brazilian northeast, region of amazing beaches. I didn’t know it was winter there! We were lucky the sun was bright and shining, perfect for touring around. The airplane landed in Maceió’s international airport, in the state Alagoas, where we rented a car and after driving for 2 hours, arrived in Maragogi.

* Wikipedia

The city is very small, very poor (sorry for my honesty, but that’s what I saw) and rich when it comes to nice people, crystal clear water and good food. One of the things we did – probably the most famous one there – was snorkeling in the natural pools. Basically you pay to get into this waterboat and go into the open sea for a few minutes, until you find this…

* TripAdvisor

* My family – my dad perplexed counting fishes

Image

The city of Maragogi has a good commerce, this is one of the main activities for the people’s subsistence in general, aside from tourism related activities. The shore is full of good restaurants. One of the typical dishes is tapioca – which I love!

* Saboridades; chicken tapioca.

Maragogi is minutes away from state Pernambuco, where we also visited. There is a city named São José da Coroa Grande, which has the same reality of the one in Alagoas. It is hard to decide which place has the best beaches though.

Image

Image

* The post’s purpose, aside from sharing my trip, is to show the readers how big and beautiful this country is. It’s sad to see the clear political disregard in those small cities of such a neglected area like the northeast is. The lack of doctors, resources, studyding (schools included) among other basic things for the local population’s survival didn’t take away the smile from their faces, and that combined with everything I saw made this trip an eternal memory. Thank you family for this early birthday gift!

15 comments on “ENG.: Maragogi – Piece of Heaven

  1. TBM
    August 15, 2013

    That water looks inviting.

  2. largerthanlifeblog
    August 19, 2013

    The crystal clear water definitely encourages a refreshing plunge into it. And the tapioca looks simply yummy.

    • thaygoulart
      September 16, 2013

      Tapioca is one of my favorite Brazilian dishes, tastes so good! If I ever make one, I’ll put it here as a post😀 sadly where I live, it’s hard to find it😦

  3. adinparadise
    September 17, 2013

    Beautiful photos. Those palm trees are really blowing.🙂

    • thaygoulart
      September 17, 2013

      For a moment I thought they were about to fly. Thank you!

  4. haydencarter11
    August 28, 2014

    Excellent report, with beautiful pictures of yourself and your family. This is what I have been looking for. I have never before heard of Maragogi. Maybe I will have to give it a look. Is it a tourist city or more of a local spot.

    • thaygoulart
      September 7, 2014

      Maragogi is a tiny city near Maceió (capital of Alagoas). It is a local spot, not a tourist city at all. Poor area around it but the beaches… Oh the beaches… Just amazing. Thank you!

      • haydencarter11
        September 29, 2014

        I like your pictures. You have that beautiful glowing Brazil smile that I imagine from your county. Where is your city? Is it nice to visit?

        • thaygoulart
          September 29, 2014

          I was born in Rio and lived there for one year, my dad’s in the army so I moved all over Brazil (literally). Right now I live in Campo Grande state Mato Grosso do Sul, 3 hours away from Paraguay and Bolivia. Capital of the state but a small city, not even a million people live here. Thank you for the compliment!

          • haydencarter11
            September 30, 2014

            That’s so cool that you have moved all over the country. I’m sure that you have seen many of the beautiful places Brazil has to offer. And you never know; I might find myself in Campo Grande during my trip. I see one beautiful part of the city already😉

          • thaygoulart
            September 30, 2014

            Wow thank you. It’s a cool place to see, I’m sure you will find lots of places around my country that are interesting and fun.

          • haydencarter11
            September 30, 2014

            I’m looking forward to a great trip. Do you give tours? lol.

          • thaygoulart
            October 4, 2014

            Haha. Sorry to inform that I’m not available for tours, my boyfriend wouldn’t like it.

          • haydencarter11
            October 26, 2014

            That was so not my intentions. My Kik name is lookitshayden. Come send a message to me there and we will talk. I want to see what’s inside that head.

Leave a Comment - Comente Aqui Sobre o Post

Visitors – Visitantes

Flag Counter

Enter your email to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email - Coloque seu e-mail para seguir este blog e receber notificações de novos posts por e-mail

Join 770 other followers

Calendar – Calendário

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
