Came to Find – Vim Encontrar

ENGLISH: So tell me, what did you come to find here? Read more and see what my opinions & thoughts on everything are all about. Followed my blog? I'll follow yours. PORTUGUÊS: Então me diga, o que você veio encontrar aqui? Leia mais e veja quais são as minhas opiniões & pensamentos sobre todas as coisas. Seguiu o meu blog? Vou seguir o seu.

ENG.: Compassion

Today I would like to comment about my indignation when it comes to “helping someone”. What happened to us?! Why can’t we see things coming from the heart anymore, from common sense, politeness or the purest good will? Why people always do stuff expecting something in return? Where is the compassion that erstwhile lived in us?

Coming home from school, a man was sitting and eating and some of his coins fell on the floor. I was walking towards him and when I got closer, I noticed he had some problems with his hands. 7 people around this man saw what happened. Seven. No one reached out for the coins for him. I approached him, said “excuse me” and did the enormous favor of “wasting” 5 seconds of my life to help somebody, the smile I got in return was enough to see this man’s gratitude.

Image

* Inspirationalquotes.biz

Compassion means “comprehend somebody else’s emotional state” and if we lose this capacity, of seeing beyond ourselves and evaluate other’s situations… What is going to happen to us? In the smallest things we find the biggest values, in the smallest details the biggest qualities. That quality – yes, quality since it’s built-in in all of us – is necessary, so necessary and like so many others, we put it on hold and prioritize ourselves, individualism.

I am not a hypocrit to affirm that I always help others, every single moment. But I do try my best, when I can. Exercising my human qualities makes me feel good, and knowing that I contributed to ease somebody’s problem makes me feel even better. Small details, small actions… Think about it.

33 comments on “ENG.: Compassion

  1. vastlycurious.com
    September 17, 2013

    I try to pay it forward every single solitary day in some small way! I tried to give an old woman a ride the other day who was carrying two bags of groceries and moving quite slow. I have an acceptable car and do not look like a bad person. She hesitated but then declined to get into my car. Everyone is afraid now days of the
    “Ramifications” of what they do , so they DON”T.

    Great post!

    • thaygoulart
      September 23, 2013

      That was really nice of you to help this lady, I’m sure her faith in mankind was restored. If it was me, in Brazil, I wouldn’t do it — things aren’t that smooth in here, got to keep your eyes open. Thank you for your comment!

      • vastlycurious.com
        September 24, 2013

        Why in Brazil would you not? I am very curious? She was OLD !!!!

        • thaygoulart
          September 24, 2013

          Because people here don’t do that, and the ones who do turn out to be creeps😦 you had a very nice attitude, wish it could happen in here.

          • vastlycurious.com
            September 25, 2013

            Really I am kind of surprised…..so sorry ! Not everyone is like that here either of course.

  2. ksbeth
    September 17, 2013

    the smallest kindness can have the greatest impact

    • thaygoulart
      September 23, 2013

      Have you ever done anything like that? Made you proud?

  3. NW Frame of Mind
    September 17, 2013

    Compassion is such an important quality, thanks for spreading the word today.
    Lisa

    • thaygoulart
      September 23, 2013

      You’re welcome! I thought it wouldn’t hurt to bring the subject up, wish I could see it more often. Do you?

  4. Sonel
    September 18, 2013

    Great post this Thay. Strangely enough I thought about it the other day as well. Here where we live it’s just the other way around. When you do want to help someone they are afraid that you would expect something back from them. Don’t people realise that if you want to do or help them with something that it’s something that you just want to do and don’t expect anything back? Me and my hubby are the type that love to help others and don’t want anything in return. It’s wonderful to help others but it seems in this world where money is some people’s ‘god’ things just don’t work that way. Lovely post hon. I think we should just keep on doing our best and help where we can even if some doesn’t appreciate it or see it the way we do. *hugs*

    • thaygoulart
      September 23, 2013

      Thanks, dear blogger friend! I like helping people, always have and I do not intend to stop now, but seeing how the concept of helping changed is really sad, and I’m only 20 years old! Have you done anything to help someone lately? I think that was my last attempt, I’ll work on something this week. I can tell you have a truly good heart🙂

  5. sabeelurrashaad
    September 18, 2013

    Today Human rights are defined as what you as a human are rightful for and deserve. In my faith, Human rights are defined as what rights you owe others. Each person must see how he can fulfill the rights of parents,siblings, relatives, neighbours, people in general right up to the leadership. And conversely, the leadership worry about fulfilling everyones rights up to the individual.
    Only that person will do this who only expects from The Almighty, having conviction that His treasures are limitless, and not expecting even a thank you from the people.
    That is the level of being just and fulfilling rights. There is a level further which you mentioned to do more out of compassion. This is the real thing which will bring a person closer to his Creator and bring humbleness in his/her life.
    A quote to add to your list: ‘There is no traffic on the extra mile’
    In my blog I wrote on this called ‘eethaar’ (giving preference to others) in Arabic. The article is in English if you want to visit and read.

  6. TBM
    September 18, 2013

    No one helped. How rude. Glad you were there and thanks for the reminder for the rest of us.

    • thaygoulart
      September 23, 2013

      How rude, exactly! You’re welcome. Do you see it often? People helping others? Wish I could see it more where I live. And how come I can’t access your blog?😦

  7. adinparadise
    September 19, 2013

    Lovely post, Thay, and so true. To me, it’s only natural to help someone who needs my help. Of course, there are some people who are too proud to accept that they need assistance, but in general, I find that a helping hand and a bit of courtesy is usually welcomed with a smile.

    • thaygoulart
      September 23, 2013

      Thanks for your words! How do you break that feeling? Too proud to accept help? I’m dealing with it and I could use some advice, if you don’t mind.

      • adinparadise
        September 23, 2013

        Sometimes just being patient and available is all you can do. Don’t stress about it, or you’ll come across as being too intense. I don’t know the circumstances, to be able to give you more advice. Good luck.

  8. jingsandthings
    September 19, 2013

    Sadly so many people feel the necessity to achieve, to win at all costs that compassion and empathy get tossed by the wayside and it’s a matter of whatever is required to win no matter the cost to others. We need more people in the world to think like you.

    • thaygoulart
      September 23, 2013

      I can already tell you think like me and I’m glad you do, help spread the word too. My dad tells me “whatever you do, there’s somebody watching” and we have to be good examples to others, I’d like to think he is right.

  9. godtisx
    September 23, 2013

    We now live in a very narcissistic world. People acting like they care to get something, people holding back because there is nothing in it for them. We’ve all dried up in ways because of one another’s lack of response on some level, so when it comes time to respond? We have no fuel. But sometimes you must care, give, respond, just b/c. There are times when it is simply the right thing to do.

  10. mockingbird181984
    September 24, 2013

    To just GIVE (help, time, effort) and not to count the cost — isn’t that rewarding in itself? Just imagine the immense happiness it brings to your life. You did the right thing, Thay! So proud of you!

    • thaygoulart
      September 25, 2013

      To me, yes it is. Thank you, mockingbird! This comment brought a smile to my face.

  11. johnallenrichter
    September 25, 2013

    One of my favorite stories is from Paul (fromerly Saul), once cruel murderer of Christians who later turned Christian himself. During one journey he was traveling a road horseback with several companions. On the side of the road was a man in distress, injured and ill, unable to complete his own journey. Several of Paul’s companions passed by the poor man with no interaction. As Paul passed by the man spoke: “Excuse me sir, but will you help me please?” Paul stopped and asked the man, “Several of my companions passed you and you did not ask them for help. Why did you stop me and ask for help?” And the stranger replied “Because of the kindness in your eyes.”

    I can see the kindness in your eyes, young woman. Never lose that. But a piece of advice: also never point out the lack of kindness in others. Instead show them an example of what “communion of souls” truly means…. And your song will be sung loudly for eternity…..

    • thaygoulart
      September 25, 2013

      That is a very nice story indeed, I’m familiar with it as a Christian myself. Thanks for your kind words, and you’re right.pointing it out isn’t nice, but I’d like to believe I didn’t do this with this post. Just shared my view on the subject, like the first sentence of it says. I’ll pass the message along!

  12. richa057
    October 6, 2013

    Lighting another person’s candle does not dim our own light. Truly compassionate people realize this. So much of what I see are peoples unwillingness to help and encourage others because of the selfish belief that they will give something of themselves away, instead of seeing that the whole room shines brighter with more light. Great Post

    • thaygoulart
      October 18, 2013

      Thank you! Like someone said in a previous comment, we have to do it not expecting something of others, but because it’s the right thing to do. Our own light will shine brighter.

  13. sameernahar
    October 15, 2013

    🙂 for the kindness you showed … Its sad that people need to even think to do or be kind … and pay it forward is needed. I believe –
    Do good, not to receive good. Be kind, not to receive kindness.
    But because it is the right thing. There should not be another reason. There can be no other reason.

    • thaygoulart
      October 18, 2013

      Wow I love your comment! You are so right, we have to do it because it’s definitely the right thing to do. Thank you so much for stopping by.

  14. randomlyabstract
    October 17, 2013

    Loved reading your post.
    Sometimes those ‘wasted’ five seconds bring eternal bliss, I agree!🙂

    • thaygoulart
      October 18, 2013

      Thank you, my blogger friend! I don’t know you that well, but for some reason I think you’d do the same thing I did when it comes to that man🙂

      • randomlyabstract
        October 18, 2013

        I think I will, too. Because no other satisfaction and peace can be attained if not by lending a helping hand!🙂

Leave a Comment - Comente Aqui Sobre o Post

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2013 by in Thoughts - Pensamentos and tagged , , , , , , .

Visitors – Visitantes

Flag Counter

Enter your email to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email - Coloque seu e-mail para seguir este blog e receber notificações de novos posts por e-mail

Join 770 other followers

Calendar – Calendário

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
